Development Kit (sort of)

Its holidays! 3 months long in fact. Now i have all the time i need for the game. Actually, the game has come to the point when only level designs are needed, which i initially thought to be the easy part. However, having designed a couple of levels during last holiday, i realised how difficult level design can be, and i didnt really enjoy making it.

Perhaps part of the reason is because the design of level is made in a program named “tilestudio”, which generates a bunch of coordinates in a text file which i can simply copy and paste into the game engine. Sounds simple, but actually not. Creating a level requires tons of trial and error, and copy and pasting again and again is no fun.

Therefore, by this holiday, i am going to create a level designer of sorts just for the game, partially to train my programming prowess (im taking a computing course in university, for those unaware :)), which will make the process of level design simpler. Also i can use some crowdsourcing to get some levels done :).

~ by HW on May 5, 2011.

12 Responses to “Development Kit (sort of)”

  1. So, did you make a level editor?? Can I see it? XD or is it still in the works?

    That crowdsourcing part sounds interesting, is there a web site you know to get people to make game assets for you? or were you just planning to ask for help in a forum?

  2. i did started working on it, a bit of zoom, moving around and stuff, but never really got to making the meat of it :P. Falls back to the lack of time issue again (also some procastination i must admit hehe).

    as for crowdsourcing, the game just isnt that popular to get people interested in making levels. but if i can make some levels and release another demo or something, i could get people interested and start contributing… but ill leave that for later. (better not get too ambitious haha)

  3. Hi i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere,
    when i read this paragraph i thought i could also create comment
    due to this good post.

  4. Hello there! This blog post could not be written any better!
    Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept preaching about this. I will forward this information to him.
    Pretty sure he’ll have a very good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  5. I love to disseminate knowledge that will I’ve built up with the season to help enhance team efficiency.

  6. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  7. Howdy! I just want to give an enormous thumbs up for the good info youve
    gotten right here on this post. I will probably be coming again to your weblog for more soon.

  8. I love to disseminate understanding that I’ve accrued through the calendar year to assist enhance team overall performance.

  9. I have a keen analytical eyesight regarding detail and can foresee
    issues prior to these people occur.

  10. Excellent willing analytical attention with regard to detail and may anticipate problems before
    they will take place.

  11. I like to disseminate knowledge that I have built up with the yr to help improve group performance.

  12. I have a keen analytical attention meant for details and can
    anticipate issues prior to these people occur.

Leave a Reply

 
